David H. Michels

Home » Librarianship » 21st Century Research Support Services

21st Century Research Support Services

In libraries we often speak about being client-focused. Last year I visited the Apple store to get a laptop repaired.  I made my appointment on online at a convenient time for me. I arrived at the “genius bar” at the scheduled2504906427_90092ffc01_m time and the staff swiftly and expertly addressed my problem. The store was packed with scheduled and dropin clients. I wondered why libraries can’t offer that kind of service.  In most academic libraries one emails a librarian and there is a back and forth trying to schedule a time. Most librarians are often busy with other duties and committees.  Increasingly the libraries’ genius bar” is closed.

2259147507_4f47e168c0_mI wondered why we couldn’t offer services like that?

I started first with the ability to schedule online appointments. I can’t be there all the time but I can post my schedule online and they can choose a time that works for them.  So first of all, Apple doesn’t sell its scheduling software. I did find many different types of client scheduling software.  Most of these are cloud based so I need to be careful of where client data resides. I chose a service that is based in Canada with strong client privacy policies.  I wanted to start it small and scale up as needed. I wanted the ability to be notified by email when a client scheduled an appointment.

I found the perfect software in BookedIN, an app used by professionals like accountants, therapists, and hairdressers to schedule appointments.  The software displays my available schedule and allows clients to book appointments for a variety of activities such as a Research Consultation or Database training. They can provide additional information so I can prepare accordingly for the session. When an appointment is made the client and I receive a notification and the client will receive a reminded before the appointment.  90733-2296786664

My clients have more control; they don’t need to keep dropping by to see if I’m available.  I also appreciate not playing email/phone tag anymore when scheduling appointments. Ok, still not the Genius Bar but one step closer.

Photo Credits: Alper Cugun, “Genius Bar”, May 16, 2008, https://flic.kr/p/4PmipR, Windward CC Library, “Reference Desk”, Feb. 11, 2008, https://flic.kr/p/4rCHR6